Years Experience


Buildings Protected


Contracts Awarded


Professional Certifications

Types of Fire Risk Assessments

It’s been proven time and again over the years that fire risk surveys save lives. A fire in any kind of building poses significant danger to the occupants. But in premises such as tower blocks, schools, care homes and hospitals it can be catastrophic. That’s why a written risk assessment for fire is a legal requirement in buildings with over five regular occupants. There are four main types of fire risk assessment (FRA), so let’s take a look at what each one means.

Type 1 FRA

The most common type of FRA is Type 1. This is known as a non-destructive assessment, and is generally restricted to the common areas of the building. Typically, that means there is no requirement to access areas used for private accommodation. (Unless there is evidence to suggest there may be a health and safety risk in such areas). Arrangements can also be made to examine tenants’ front doors as part of the fire risk surveys.

A Type 1 assessment can lead to recommendations for one of the other types of assessment to be carried out. In these cases, there must be clear justification for advising an additional survey.

Type 2 FRA

A Type 2 assessment generally involves a more destructive element, as samples of material may be needed. Like Type 1, however, it is usually restricted to the common areas of the building, and not private dwellings. Normally a contractor will be employed to remove any samples that are called for.

Generally, a Type 2 assessment will only take place if there are concerns about dangerous structural flaws. This is because any disruption to the internal layout of a building can cause fire to spread more quickly.

Call Us

Type 3 FRA

A Type 3 fire risk assessment is non-destructive, as it doesn’t require samples to be taken. However, unlike a Type 1 assessment, it does require access to private accommodation areas. Compartmentation between flats, escape routes and fire detection equipment will be assessed in all areas.

Understandably, a Type 3 assessment is easier in unoccupied buildings, or where accommodation is rented rather than owned.

Type 4 FRA

Type 4 fire risk surveys can be more complicated to undertake, as they involve destructive sampling and cover all areas. Because they include dwelling areas, access may be difficult. Repair work may also be needed where samples have been taken.

Usually, a Type 4 fire risk assessment is only required in certain circumstances. These are usually based on concerns about serious defects in both common areas and individual accommodation. A Type 4 FRA may be recommended after a change of landlord, if new construction work has been carried out.

Call Us

More Information

Here at Meritas it’s our mission to provide our customers with confidence and peace of mind. We understand how important it is to know that your property is protected and fully compliant with current regulations. That’s why we pride ourselves on the service we provide.

Contact us today for more information or advice on how we can help. If you already know what type of risk assessment you require, you can reference it in the form below.


Find out more information about each of the passive and active fire protection services that Meritas offers below.

All Services

Protecting lives, properties and possessions.

Unsure about which service you require?

For expert advice or to book a consultation, call usĀ 01621 770834



Why not start discovering how Meritas can help benefit your business? Quality hints, tips and expert advice.

Copyright 2024 Meritas Fire & Security Protection. Website and marketing by Unity Online.